GJW Direct Salcombe Open

Nigel Hufton - 23rd October 2017

Some 20 Larks manged to venture out on the Sunday after the previous evening’s traditional black-tie dinner.
The breeze was better than Saturday with a steady F3 breeze again straight from the mouth of the river. The first race saw Stuart Hydon and Bob Suggitt establish an early lead, only to be overtaken down the run by James Ward and Fran Gifford who clearly knew where the next mark was (tucked up a different creek). Whilst the navigation was having issues the fleet closed in with Glen Enkel and Ann Biglin leading the next pack. Rounding the leeward mark it was a charge back to the finish which involved keeping out of the tide and then timing the estuary crossing to slide up the town side of the river. First home was Hydon/ Suggitt followed by Nigel Hufton and Matt Wood.

Race 2 saw a split in the fleet as evasion of the strong tide was the only tactic. Local experts Will and Mandy Henderson managed to break free with Tony Hotchkiss and Sam Blocksidge by chancing the opposite shore. Once again it was “the bag” that provided an opportunity for others with the lead changing several times. Finally, it was the Hendersons who manged to take line honours, followed by Chris Allen and Ann Ashworth. Hotchkiss / Blocksidge pulled up into third.
For race 3 the tide was really racing, which certainly helped to reduce the chance of OCS. From the success of race 2 there was a frenzy of starters on the far side of the river. However, Hufton/Wood and a few others took their chance up the town side. Hydon/Suggitt managed to pass the Hendersons and Allen/Ashworth on the far side to take the lead up the first beat. Amazingly Hufton/Wood from the other side managed to round close second, proving there wasn’t much in it. Hydon/Suggitt held the lead to take the race and the Open. Hufton/ Wood came in second followed by Allen/Ashworth which was also the final order in the open.

Thanks go to Salcombe YC for putting on fantastic weekend.

Final Results

1st Stuart Hydon and Bob Suggitt Shustoke and Barnt Green SC
2nd Nigel Hufton and Matt Wood Frensham Pond SC
3rd Chris Allen and Ann Ashworth Hayling Island SC
4th Will and Mandy Henderson Salcombe YC
5th James Ward and Fran Gifford Warsash SC
6th Nick and Ruth Marlow Attenborough SC
7th Glen Enkel and Ann Biglin Maylandsea Bay SC / Shustoke SC
Full results