GJW Direct Lark National Championships - Day 4

Harry Pynn - 27th August 2016

Going into the final day of the GJW Direct Lark National Championships at Lyme Regis any one of four teams could still win the event. Stuart Hydon and Rachael Rhodes in 2495 were leading the event and had to finish 4th to guarantee the win. The wind had changed to a South Easterly overnight and appeared light from the shore but once launched the fleet were greeted by a force 4 and with the wind against tide the waves provided ample opportunity for overtaking downwind.

Chris Holliman and Kate Hutchins in 2475 and went right up the first beat and lead round the windward mark but where were the main protagonists? An over enthusiastic tack by Chris Whitehouse and Simon Haighton caused them to fill up with water up the first beat and this took them out of contention. Stuart and Rachael rounded 2nd and overtook Chris and Kate on the second lap to win the final race and take the event.

Other championship contenders Steve Hall and Holly Hewat in 2537 and Alan Krailing and Ed Harris in 2521 went left up the first beat. Alan and Ed pulled through to 2nd place ahead of Holliman and Hutchins.

Congratulations to Stuart and Rachael on their first National Championship win. The class would like to thank Lyme Regis Sailing Club for hosting a fantastic event.

Final results available on the Lyme Regis Sailing Club website at:
PosSail NoBoat NameHelmCrewClubR1R2R3R4R5R6R7Pts
12495Well dodgyStu HydonRachael RhodesShustoke/ Staunton Harold221‑865117
22521MozzyAlan KrailingEd HarrisWaldringfield SC‑972641222
32523Dizzy GillespieChris WhitehouseSimon HaightonRange laugh SC11410310‑1429
42492FlorenceJames StewartJane KearneyNetley S C7(OCS)7317429
52537 Steve HallHolly HewatBurnham Sailing Club3539‑132830
62538 Nigel HuftonMatt WoodFrensham Pond SC63872‑14733
72475Helly HansenChris HollimanKate HutchinsRomsey YC869‑1373336
8253 James GossNicola BoothSouth Staffs SC44(BFD)11104538
92491 Stephen VideloMaddie HarrisWaldringfield SC5910‑12561146
102519Wicked RumoursCharlie RoomeEddie ListerRanelagh/Itchenor SC1110(BFD)2811648
112501 Ross KearneyOliver GoodheadSouth Staffs SC101151148‑1649
122496Nelly the ElephantSteve CumleyEluned StewartNetley S C‑1515135912963
132527FloozieAdam ParryRuth JohnsonNetley SC1386‑191791063
142520RollergirlHarry PynnGemma CookWaldringfield SC14(OCS)11412181271
152464 Chris WhiteChris WarburtonSouth Staffs SC1214‑161615131383
162507BruceJames WardKatie WardWarsash S.C1613121418‑221588
172494Fishy Fingers TooChristopher FishCathy FishWaldringfield SC2112(BFD)171116DNS108
182531Polar BearTim VickHelen ChattenOtago Yacht Club(DNC)161818221718109
192539DylanNigel ScottKirsty PhippsBowmoor202014151923(DNF)111
202536 Will KennedyChris SycamoreMarconi Sailing Club182215212115(DNS)112
212470TigerGarry PackerRichard PackerBristol Corinthian YC171817‑22202021113
222504MleviJohn CrooksFiona GrayWaldringfield SC1919(BFD)20232617124
232462Mr BigglesworthNick MarlowRuth MarlowASC2217(DNC)24242123131
242502WeebleSteve ChattenLucy EvansNetley SC(DNC)DNCDNCDNC161919147
252459BuffyNigel DenchfieldMartyn DenchfieldStewartby232319(DNC)DNCDNC25152
262452 Max HelstonJake StowLyme Regis SC2421(DNC)DNFDNC2522154
272442Lucky PantsKate MerrittKaren AlexanderSouth Staffs/ Royal Plymouth Corinthian25(DNC)DNC2525DNC20157
282472 Cameron MossMax SmithLyme Regis SC(DNC)DNCDNC232624DNF166
292530WindchaserChris EllisJudith YoungFrensham Pond SC(DNC)DNCDNC2627DNC24170
302534 David RussellGary JacksonMarconi Sailing Club(DNC)DNCDNC2728DNCDNF179