© Daniel Watson© Daniel Watson© Daniel Watson

Royal Harwich Lark Open report

Daniel Watson - 21st June 2011

An exaltation of Larks ventured to Royal Harwich Yacht Club for the open meeting held jointly with the National 12 and Firefly cousins. Conditions were breezy for both days. Saturday's gusty westerlies caused mayhem as the larks tried to weave their way through National 12s and Fireflies on Graham Ireland's legendary outer loop trapezoid courses. By Sunday the wind had veered so that it was coming straight down the river making it slightly more stable but still breezy.

Harry Pynn and his 2011 crew, Adam Owens, took 4 race wins out of 5 to win the event.
Lark new-comers Henry Mills, sailing with Emma Knott were 2nd, counting three 3rds and a win in the final race, proving that their light weight was not a problem in the conditions.
In third overall, Charlie Roome and Dave Marlow had led around the windward mark in race one and also led race 3 following a superbly taken gybe at the leeward mark.

Other notable performances were Chris Holliman and Kate Hutchins who pushed Pynn and Owens hard in race 2 and also came 2nd in race 5. Nigel Hufton and Andy Douglas squandered a good overall position by wrapping the pin end of the finish line around their rudder in the final race. Birthday boy Simon Cox and crew Ally Dart crossed the line first in race 5 but were later disqualified after protest against them was upheld.

As usual Royal Harwich provided the fantastic close racing that the Lark fleet is famous for. The class would like to thank Royal Harwich Yacht Club for organising the event and Jon Ibbotson, John Meadowcroft and Roger Morris for their time on the protest committee.

1st2520Waldringfield SCHarry PynnAdam Owens
2nd2474Waldringfield SCHenry MillsEmma Knott
3rd2519RYACharlie RoomeDavid Marlow
4th2530Hallamshire SCSteve HallSi Haighton
5th2470Frensham PondNigel HuftonAndrew Douglas
6th2444Waldringfield SCMatt StearnDrew James
7th2475TimsburyChris HollimanKate Hutchins
8th2502RYASteve ChattenHelen Winward
9th2413Waldringfield SCGeoff MayhewJamie Mayhew
10th2500Waldringfield SCFiona GrayAaron Woolf
11th2462Attenborough SCNick MarlowKaren Jewkes
12th2472Nigel ScottHarri Condie
13th2490Attenborough SCRobert MarlowRuth Marlow
14th2370Ulley SCTim VickRebecca Marks
15th2442Waldringfield SCSimon CoxAlly Dart
16th2484Rock SWCHelen ScottDougal Scott
17th2504Waldringfield SCJohn CrooksLaura Mitchell
18th2379Fishers GreenWill KennedyMax Ingall
19th2098RHYCGraham LouthWilliam Louth