© Matt Mcardle© Matt Mcardle© Edd Mcardle

Waldringfield Open Meeting Report

Daniel Watson - 28th October 2010

19 boats turned up at Waldringfield to compete for the cartoon trophy in a south Westerly force 3 to 4.

Race 1 got away first time, with Steve Hall/Simon Haighton leading round the windward mark followed by Enterprise sailor Steve Graham crewed by Rachel Rhodes in a borrowed boat. Hall/Haighton managed to gain a small gap over the fleet while Graham/Rhodes were struggling with the extra sail. 2009 National Champions Alan Krailing/Edd McArdle pulled through to second followed by current National Champions Harry Pynn/Micheal John Gifford.
Hall/Haighton just managed to hold on to the race win from a rapidly closing Krailing/McArdle, with a gap to Pynn/Gifford in third.

Race 2 and Anthony Gifford/Jo Gifford lead at the windward mark closely followed by Hall/Haighton and Chris Fish/Beth Condie. Hall/Haighton went for the spinnaker straight away and snatched the lead and were unchallenged to the finish. They were followed by Fish/Condie and Pynn/Gifford worked through the fleet to take third.

Race 3 was sailed after a proper club lunch. After some antics at the pin end the fleet split with the right hand side paying dividends Matt/Emma White lead at the windward mark followed by Pynn/Gifford. These two had a good battle with the Whites just coming out on top. Stephen Videlo/Emma Knott sailed well to take third.

Sunday dawned to clear blue skies and a force 3 to 4 once again, the PRO made a good decision to sail three races back to back to make the best use of the tide.

Race 4 was lead from start to finish by Pynn/Gifford chased hard by Krailing/McArdle, with Hall/Haighton recovering from a bad start to get third place.

Race 5 and Hall/Haighton were first round the windward mark closely followed by Fish/Condie and Matt Stearn/Adam Owens. Hall/Haighton popped their kite first and managed to hold it down the tight reach to gain a confortable lead over the following group. Stearn/Owens overtook Fish/Condie to take second, with Pynn/Gifford in third.

Race 6, and it was a final race showdown between Hall/Haighton and Pynn/Gifford. Fish/Condie lead from start to finish with Pynn/Gifford in second after a battle with Krailing/McArdle who finished third. Hall/Haighton finished fourth which was enough to give them the event and also the Belle Isle travellers series.

So it was a good weekend with 3 new Ovington Larks at the top of the fleet after some fantastic sailing on the Deben.

Overall Results
1st 2523 Steve Hall Simon Haighton 10
2nd 2520 Harry Pynn Michael John Gifford 11
3rd 2521 Alan Krailing Edd McArdle 15
4th 2471 Matt White Emma White 24
5th 2494 Chris Fish Beth Condie 26