Mayflower Final Fling Overall Report

Steve Hall - 16th October 2007

13 Larks turned up for the Plymouth Mayflower SC Final Fling, to be greeted by a nice force 3-4, and some brilliant sailing conditions outside of the breakwater.

Steve Hall and Simon Haighton led round the windward mark in race one, closely followed by Simon Cox and Sara Olliff, and Dave Young and Amy Finney. These three pulled away from the fleet during the rest race, with positions staying unchanged for the finish.

Race 2 and it was Justin Jones and Lucy Evans leading at the windward mark, followed by Hall & Haighton, and Cox & Olliff. There followed a close battle for the lead between Jones & Evans and Hall & Haighton culminating in Hall & Haighton taking the lead on the last run before the finish.

Race 3 and it was once again Jones & Evans leading round the windward mark, followed by Cox & Olliff, and Hall & Haighton with Chris and Ann Biglin hot on their heels. Hall & Haighton managed to claw their way past Cox & Olliff, but in doing so let Jones & Evans pull away, this gave Jones & Evans their first race win of the weekend, followed by Hall & Haighton with the Biglins sneaking through into third.

Saturday night turned out to be a proper Lark social, with almost the whole fleet turning up in the local pub, only to claim ownership of the whole balcony for the England match. This was then followed by many choruses of ‘Swing Low Sweet Chariot’ by a suitably inebriated fleet, the majority of which then went to sample what Plymouth had to offer.

Sailors woke on Sunday morning to what looked like very little wind from the dinghy park. However they were soon informed that the start would be happening on time, and that there was wind on the racecourse. Race 4 was sailed in a force 2-3, which allowed some of the lighter weight sailors into contention, the winners were Jones & Evans once again, followed in by the Biglin’s, with Holly Hewatt and Alison Dart in third.

Race 5, and the event was turning into a showdown between Jones & Evans and Hall & Haighton. However it was Matt Stearn and Adam Owens who led from start to finish, followed by Hall & Haighton with Richard Bennett and Nicola Booth in third. Jones & Evans were OCS in this race, and had to restart but did well to pull back to sixth, keeping them in contention for the overall lead.

Race six, and Hall & Haighton just needed to be within two points of Jones & Evans to ensure their first open victory. Victory in the final race went to Bennett & Booth, who led all the way round, followed in by Stearn & Owens and Young & Finney. Jones & Evans and Hall & Haighton finished up in 4th and 5th respectively giving Hall & Haighton the overall win.

We would like to thank our circuit sponsors, Pinnell & Bax, Speed Sails and Pedrollo for their continued support of the Lark Class in 2007.

Overall Results
1st 2502 Steve Hall & Simon Haighton, Hollowell SC 11pts
2nd 2489 Justin Jones & Lucy Evans, South Staffs SC 12pts
3rd 2487 Rich Bennett & Nicola Booth, Staunton Harold SC 18pts
4th 2444 Matt Stearn & Adam Owens, Waldringfield SC 19pts
5th 2500 Simon Cox & Sara Olliff, Waldringfield SC 20pts
6th 2507 Dave Young & Amy Finney, South Staffs SC 25pts
7th 2488 Chris Biglin & Ann Biglin, Shustoke SC 27pts
8th 2330 Steve Chatten & Katherine Lovering, Frensham Pond SC 34pts
9th 2472 Nigel Scott & Rachel Rhodes, RYA 42pts
10th 2301 tuart Allen & Julia Allen, Banbury SC 44pts
11th 2442 Holly Hewat & Alison Dart, Medway YC 46pts
12th 2504 John Crooks & Helen Winward, Burghfield SC 58pts
13th 2223 Fiona Gray & Spanni Archer, Waldringfield SC 60pts