© LCOA/Pete Vincent© Ian Videlo/LCOA

Lark Inland Championship Report

Chris Fish - 09th September 2009

Carsington Sailing Club hosted the Larks Inland Championship over 5/6 September. 29 Larks enjoyed two days of shifty, F2-4 winds at this new venue.

Chris Fish/ Beth Condie led race 1 early on but brothers Stephen & Chris Videlo caught up and the second half was a close tussle, with Steve Hall/ Simon Haighton adding spice in 3rd.

The Videlos gained satisfaction in race 2, this time dominating, whilst Fish/Condie were worried by Hall/Haighton and Matt Mee/Chris Robinson catching all the time.

Race 3 was Hall/ Haighton’s from the start. Stuart Hydon/ Hannah Showell found their form for 2nd with Mee/Robinson taking 3rd. As championship racing goes this was good stuff.

After a relaxed evening (by the Larks standards) at the club, the sailors launched with slightly less wind than Saturday but from a similar direction. Fish/Condie banged left again up the first beat of race 4 and extended to almost a reach in front at one point. Hall/Haighton pinched second on the line from Hydon/ Showell after a long dual.

Going into the last race, only Fish/Condie and Hall/ Haighton could win. Everything looked good for Hall/ Haighton as they had a solid pin end start and Fish/Condie were buried directly behind. Early leaders included Jon Ibbotson/ Alison Dart, Holly Hewat/ Ruth Johnson and Richard Bennett/ Peter Gray. Hall/ Haighton took 5 laps to take the lead. Fish/Condie recovered well to 3rd but that meant Hall/ Haighton would take the title on the last race result. However, in a dramatic twist up the last beat, Hall/ Haighton failed to cover Bennett/Gray, who had stayed with them in 2nd. Bennett/Gray duly found breeze and a lift to take the race on the line. This meant Fish/Condie won the championship by one point.

1. Christopher Fish/ Beth Condie 2494 Waldringfield. S.C.
2. Steve Hall/ Simon Haighton 2519 Northampton S.C.
3. Stuart Hydon/ Hannah Showell 2503 Shustoke S.C.
4. Richard Bennett/ Peter Gray 2487 Staunton Harold S.C.
5. Stephen Videlo/ Christopher Videlo 2491 Waldringfield S.C.
6. Matt Mee/ Chris Robinson 2507 Hollingworth S.C.
7. Holly Hewat/ Ruth Johnson 2442 Medway S.C. (1st Silver Fleet)
23. Eluned Jones/ Millie Parsons 2466 Frensham Pond S.C. (1st Bronze Fleet)

Click here for full results.